#ARCAugust: All Things New

34332260All Things New. Lauren Miller. Young adult/Mental health/Contemporary. 2017. 328 pages. 2 stars.

“Brokenness is just like beauty; it’s something we wear and carry, and if we let it define us, it will. But we are not our beauty or our brokenness, because souls are not made of beauty or brokenness. Souls are made of something permanent. Souls are made of truth.”

I received a copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

synopsis

Jessa has always felt broken inside, but she’s gotten very good at hiding it. No one at school knows about the panic attacks, the therapy that didn’t help, the meds that haven’t worked. But when a severe accident leaves her with a brain injury and visible scars, Jessa’s efforts to convince the world that she’s okay finally crumble—now she looks as shattered as she feels.

Fleeing from her old life in Los Angeles, Jessa moves to Colorado to live with her dad, where she meets Marshall, a boy whose kindness and generous heart slowly draw Jessa out of her walled-off shell and into the broken, beautiful, real world—a place where souls get hurt just as badly as bodies, and we all need each other to heal.

ALL THINGS NEW is a love story about perception and truth, physical and emotional pain, and the messy, complicated people we are behind the masks we put on for the world, perfect for fans of ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES and THE FAULT IN OUR STARS.

my thoughts

Oh my. Yikes. I wish I could say more about this book but the thing is, I can’t remember that much anymore despite finishing it recently. The plot revolves around Jessica’s anxiety paired with her hallucinations due to a brain injury obtained from a car crash. She moves away from her mom and lives with her Dad.

The writing wasn’t anything special. It was very mundane and didn’t stand out. This was bad because it didn’t hold my interest. The premise was good but the writing failed to execute.

The romance also felt insta-lovey. Really reminded me of TFIOS (warning: I dislike that book) so that’s part of why I didn’t seem to catch on.

It’s not as bad as it sounds, but I would describe this book as dull by comparison if I had to.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s