Off the Page

Off the Page. Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer. Young Adult. 2o15. 356 pages. 3 stars. [Source: Bought]

“What if we did get so lucky that we’re due for something terrible?”

From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and co-writer, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and magical relationships.
 
Sixteen-year-old Delilah is finally united with Oliver—a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale. There are, however, complications now that Oliver has been able to enter the real world. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to take Oliver’s role in Delilah’s favorite book. In this multilayered universe, the line between what is on the page and what is possible is blurred, but all must be resolved for the characters to live happily ever after. Includes twelve full-color illustrations, and black-and-white decorations throughout.
 
Full of humor and witty commentary about life, OFF THE PAGE is a stand-alone novel as well as a companion to the authors’ bestsellerBetween the Lines, and is perfect for readers looking for a fairytale ending. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot are sure to appreciate this novel about love, romance, and relationships.

I read this book after it sat unopened in my shelf for a few months. I was expecting this book to be a feel-good read and it proved to be a light and funny read.

This book is literally Enchanted meets Ruby Sparks in my opinion. In this book, Delilah wishes for Oliver, a prince in a fairy tale she read, to come to her realm. It seems very high fantasy but it’s anything but. It’s quite amusing how Oliver and Seraphima act once they’re put into “our realm.”

Other things that made the book interesting were the color coded text and the illustrations! It made the book all the more looking like a fairytale and I absolutely loved it.

I wish I had more to say but I’m afraid that’s all I have. It was nice. Didn’t love it, didn’t hate it either. Props for making me feel like a child wanting to be a princess again!

Advertisements

2 Replies to “Off the Page”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s