Falling into Place

falling into placeFalling into Place. Amy Zhang. Young Adult. 2014. 304 pages. 4.8 stars. [Source: Bought]

“She would be an object in motion that would stay in motion, even if it meant flattening everything in her path.”

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

My expectations for this book were way off. I thought that this was a love story woven around the beauty of physics or somewhere along those lines.

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

This book was 13 Reasons Why meets If I Stay. One thing I could say that was intriguing about this book was the POV it was written in. At the start I was confused as to whose perspective I was reading this book from and when I finally found out who it was–though, after a hundred pages or so, I had a pretty good idea and I turned out to be right–I was left speechless at the genius idea of the author. Amy Zhang, absolutely wonderful.

Falling into Place is one of those books that makes you take a step back and reexamine your life, because that’s what the content does. It makes you self-aware. It makes you conscious. It makes you wonder.

Honestly, I am (or, well, was) one of those people who only read novels that had cheesy romance in it. I was surprised as to how I found myself so engrossed in the story that I was glad there was little to no romance included. This story made me feel more than I would when reading romance-centered novels.

The only reason I’m giving this book 4.8 stars was because of the ending!!!! I was so ready to accept what I predicted, only to be shoved to the other end of possibility. This is one of those stories where I would have appreciated such as the ending as I thought it would have. But sans my ending let-down, everything in this book was spotless. From the POV, to the Snapshots, to the feelings, to the almost-tears, this has got to be one of the saddest yet most tear-jerking books I’ve read. Definitely adding this to our Recommendations page!

Advertisements

6 Replies to “Falling into Place”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s